Tags

My experience with this Emotional History assignment was more positive than negative. I really enjoyed diving into the audio interviewing world, and liked the emotional impact it gives you as it is vastly different from the impact you get when you read something, even if it has been wonderfully written. Even though I interviewed my brother Dioni, I found things out that I hadn’t previously known about him and his experience with coming out as a homosexual male. The emotion based work that we needed to create gave me a new outlook on journalism. I had used audio previously to record interviews I have done in order to make notes and a transcript for a written piece, but actually using the audio for my assignment was a different experience. I had to focus more on how it sounded, not only though how my interviewee gave me an emotional story, but also how I edited the audio in Hindenburg.

Audio levels were a big part of what I needed to focus on and I did have trouble with background noise as it took me a few tries to find somewhere quiet enough to get the audio I needed. This is something I would approach differently if I were to tackle this assignment again as I could have been more prepared with the space I interviewed in. But in saying that, I did find a space that was perfect for interviewing and in turn I had good audio levels with minimal background noise.

The editing process although I enjoyed it, was the most difficult part of this assignment as I am new to the editing world of audio interviews as well as Hindenburg. Finding some good royalty free music to go into the background of my audio piece took me a while as I wanted to find something that fit right. I also didn’t want to just find one piece of music I wanted to find two separate pieces; one that had an aura of sadness and one that was uplifting, as that is what my story does, it transcends from sadness to happiness and I wanted to showcase that through my music as well as my voice audio.

In terms of editing my actual interview, it was more difficult than I expected it to be. Trying to find the key points of the story and make it into a two minute piece took me some time to figure out. I noticed that even when I thought I was done and happy with what I had created, I found myself going back and swapping and changing things to fit better. Shortening down and fusing the audio snippets together was frustrating as I would frequently cut or shorten the wrong thing. After all the experiences and things I have learnt during the emotional history assignment I am proud of what I have created and produced and also look forward to creating more audio interview pieces in the future, either in journalism classes or in my free time.

Here is a link to my Audio Piece for the assignment.

